
Question Roundup, Part 3

  

Bullet Points 

Question Roundup, Part 3 
By Owen K.C. Stephens

Welcome to the latest installment of Bullet Points. I'm Owen K.C. Stephens, writer of a lot of material for the Star 
Wars Roleplaying Game and the d20 Modern game, author of the recently released d20 Cyberscape book, and 
co-author of the d20 Apocalypse supplement. It's my job to answer your questions about the game, offer advice 
on tricky rules issues, and give you a little peek into the design philosophy of the game.

Every two weeks I pick an issue that's provoked a lot of questions or comments, begin with a general discussion 
of the topic where applicable, and then answer specific questions related to it. If the mailbox contains any 
unrelated but pressing questions, I might tackle them at the end of the column, but only if I have room and they 
can't wait for an appropriately themed column.

Question Roundup, Part 3

In the course of examining various issues from specific books in the d20 Modern game line, I've encountered 
some questions that don't really fit into any of my themed installments. Just to catch up, I want to grab some 
leftover questions and answer them now, no matter which book they relate to.

Questions and Answers

Now without further ado, let's get down to the questions!

Could a character use Knowledge (behavioral science) or Diplomacy instead of Sense Motive to 
oppose Bluff in certain situations, such as gambling, facing down a gunman, or trying to stop a 

madman from jumping off a bridge?

No, those skills can't be used to oppose a Bluff check, though your GM could allow them to grant synergy 
bonuses on Sense Motive checks made to oppose a Bluff check under certain circumstances. For example, if a 
character has ranks in Knowledge (behavioral science) and has spent some time studying a mentally 
unbalanced GM character, it might be appropriate to grant her a +2 synergy bonus on her Sense Motive check. 
But that decision would be entirely up to the GM.

On the other hand, if a character is trying to talk someone out of jumping off a building, Diplomacy is the 
appropriate skill. Diplomacy won't help the character figure out whether the jumper is serious about suicide -- 
that would still take a Sense Motive check. For convincing him that jumping is a bad idea, however, a Diplomacy 
check would certainly be appropriate.

I want to create a PC who is addicted to drugs but gains bonuses on his skill checks, attack rolls, 
and so forth because of those same drugs. Does one of the d20 Modern rulebooks provide game 

effects for cocaine, heroine, marijuana, and other illegal drugs? Do the rules give any kind of system or 
formula I can use to create my own enhancing drugs? How many uses does it take to become addicted 

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=d20modern/bp/20060217a&pf=true (1 of 4)6/19/2006 9:19:29 AM



Question Roundup, Part 3

to a specific drug? And how should I handle the after-effects of these drugs and the long-term effects of 
addiction to them?

First of all, none of the drugs you mention would 
grant bonuses on any skill checks or attack rolls. 
Drugs can deaden pain, but in most cases, that 
effect simply encourages a character to pursue 
dangerous courses of action without considering 
the consequences to his body -- and no game 
mechanics are needed to govern that kind of 
player decision.

Secondly, drug abuse and addiction are serious 
matters. Run properly, this situation would 
eventually result in a character being taken from a 
player -- either to be run by the GM as an addict, 
or removed from the game entirely for some form 
of rehabilitation. Such an outcome isn't a lot of 
fun, so it's not something the game is going to 
encourage. Yes, drug-addicted characters exist in 
many good fiction sources that the d20 Modern 
game tries to emulate. But those stories feature 
cowards too, and we don't have a game mechanic for mundane (nonmagical) cowardice.

Put another way, some aspects of fiction and even reality are unlikely ever to be modeled by official rules 
because the designers don't suggest they should be part of a typical d20 Modern game. If you want these kinds 
of rules, you and your GM must come up with some that the two of you are happy with. Only so much room is 
available in the rulebooks as it is, and that space is reserved for material that the designers believe will provide 
the most fun for the most players. Drug abuse, addiction, and similar serious, real-world issues and problems 
just don't qualify. You can do whatever you want in your own games, but you have to cover issues such as this 
one in a way that makes you happy. I recommend looking at the rules for poisons and allegiances as a start. In 
the long run, however, it's up to you to work out some rules in a way that satisfies both you and your GM.

Are the DCs for "tumble past" and "tumble through" really the same (20)? All the other d20 
variants I know give them separate values, although not all give them the same ones.

Official rules change. The check to tumble past is DC 15, and the one to tumble through is DC 20.

We're new to the d20 Modern game, and the massive damage rules have confused us a bit. The 
rules state that if damage taken "from a single hit" is higher than the character's Constitution 

score, then the character must make his Fortitude save or drop to -1 hp. We're confused on what would 
qualify as a "single hit." A single shot would surely qualify, but what about damage spread out over an 
area, such as an explosion or red dragon fire? Would an attack made with Double Tap qualify as a single 
hit?

Any damage dealt in a single damage roll qualifies as a single hit for the purpose of the massive damage 
threshold. So yes, explosives damage, a fireball, a dragon's breath, or even damage from a Double Tap would 
qualify as a single hit under this rule.
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A character with ranks in Craft 
(mechanical) can build car engines or 

even jet engines. A character with ranks in 
Repair can fix mechanical devices, including 
cars. Could a character (or group of 
characters) with ranks in both skills build a 
powerful engine and install it to give a vehicle 
a higher top speed, or to alter any of its other 
stats?

Yes, if the GM wants to allow it; otherwise no. As 
a general rule, characters can't use these skills to 
achieve results that are not normally possible in 
the real world. If the GM feels that an engine is 
operating below its maximum possible efficiency, 
it's certainly reasonable to let heroes with the 
right skills increase that efficiency. But a state-of-
the-art machine that's designed for the maximum 
possible output probably can't be improved much.

The rules for dynamite say that a character can strap several sticks together to make a larger bang 
using the Demolitions skill. Each stick adds more damage or more range, (player's choice). The 

player has to total up all the sticks that the character has wired together and add 10 to get the DC for the 
Demolition check. The rules also state that if one stick of dynamite goes off near another one, they both 
blow up, and the result is effectively the same. So why would a character need to take the risk of 
blowing himself up when he could just put ten sticks in a gym bag, throw in one stick set with a radio 
detonator, and fire them all off at the same time?

You've missed the point of the skill check. Each additional stick that goes off just because it's nearby adds +1d6 
damage and +5 feet to the radius of the explosion (to a maximum of 10d6 points of damage and a 20-foot 
radius). With a successful Demolitions check (DC 10 +1 per stick), a character may increase the total damage, 
or the total radius, by 50%. Thus, a character who throws nine sticks of dynamite in a bag and sets them off with 
another gets a 10d6 explosion with a 20-foot radius. If that character takes the trouble to wire them together with 
a DC 19 Demolitions check, he can have either a 15d6 explosion with a 20-foot radius, or a 10d6 explosion with 
a 30-foot radius.

Can a character who uses Craft (chemical) to make homemade explosives wire similar types 
together to add to the overall effect? For example, can he make several "improvised" explosives, 

each of which takes only 1 round to make and has a Purchase DC of only 6, then wire them together 
using the Demolitions skill? For example, if a character wired ten bombs together, what effect would 
they have if they went off together? What if the bombs were different -- say one bomb that deals 4d6 
points of damage, and another that deals only 1d6 points. What would the overall damage be then? 
What if a character wants to combine "manufactured" explosives, such as dynamite or C4, with 
homemade bombs?

Maybe. No. 4d6. Depends.

Improvised explosives can't ever be improved. They're improvised. If your character wants explosives that can 
be tweaked, she's going to have to spend the time and effort to make better ones.
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The Demolitions skill does not allow a character to wire just any two explosives together to get a bigger 
explosion. That option is available only for certain explosives, and the rules for it are covered in the descriptions 
of those explosives. And since you can use Craft (chemical) to make those specific explosives, no rules are 
needed for other explosives that are similar.

For the purpose of wiring explosives together, assume that all simple explosives act like either dynamite or det 
cord, and that all moderate explosives act like C4. Using that logic, homemade simple explosives can be wired 
together with dynamite, using the rules for dynamite (including the cap on extra damage and radius).

For any other combination, treat the explosions as separate, even if they go off at once. A character can 
certainly wire two powerful homemade explosives together with a Demolitions check so that they detonate at 
once. This option produces two separate 8d8 explosions, each with a 20-foot radius.

Do you have a rules question about the d20 Modern Roleplaying Game? Send it to bulletpoints@wizards.com. 
For the quickest possible answer, please put the topic of your question in the subject line and keep the question 
as succinct as possible. If you have more than one question, feel free to send two or more emails -- but for best 
results please include only one question per email unless your questions are very closely related to one another. 
Please don't expect a direct answer by email. Check back here every other week for the latest batch of answers!
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